HomeHomePermaculture in...Permaculture in...Spokane Permacu...Spokane Permacu...Need Help Learning to Prune Fruit Trees Need Help Learning to Prune Fruit Trees
Previous

Next
New Post
2/15/2014 10:24 AM

Hello All,

As I was standing outside with my pruning saw and clippers I must admit that I am paralyzed with fear.  Something like I felt as a young father thinking that everything I did with my children would effect them for the rest of their life.

While I have read the pruning books I cannot translate the brain knowledge to confident action.   I am sure that I am not alone.  I would like to find someone willing to help me prune my 2 year old trees.  I would be willing to pay or work trade.   For the right teacher  I would be willing to host a Pruning Workshop to spread the skills and costs around.

Any ideas or volunteers?  Is there anyone else who would be interested in this?

Thanks, Mike

New Post
2/15/2014 10:46 AM

Hi Mike,

I have been prunning espaliear trees for a few years now and I think I finally have a grasp on it. I will need to talk to my wife about making some time but I may be able to come by tomorrow.

Sean

New Post
2/15/2014 10:54 AM

Great! Thanks Sean. I am not doing any espaliear'... yet but I am interested. In my case they are all in my Food Forest Zones and I want to help shape them for their future productivity.

I would be glad to come to your house first to see what you are doing and then come here. I am overdue for a visit to your place anyway. :)

MIke

New Post
2/15/2014 11:04 AM

Hi Mike,

You are always welcome and... as you are well aware I still have your broadfork, not that there is anything I can do with it. I was thinking of getting a magna grecia hoe, have you seen those? Please give me a call tomorrow, I won't know what's up over here until my wife gets home from work this evening.

Sean

New Post
2/15/2014 11:17 AM